May 5, 2014 1:56 PM by KVOA Sports

Oja, McMahon to represent Wildcats at NCAA Golf Regionals

INDIANAPOLIS - The golf season isn't over yet for Erik Oja and Alex McMahon. The NCAA announced the teams and individuals who will participate in the Division One Men's Golf Championships on Monday.

Erik Oja competed at the number one spot for the Arizona Wildcats this season. He has eight Top 10 finishes on the year.

"Erik is one of the top players in the country and will contend for the spot to advance to the NCAA National Championship," coach Jim Anderson said.

Oja will compete in the prestigious Palmer Cup this summer, a tournament pitting the top American and European collegiate golfers against one another. The senior will move back to his native Sweden prior to the competition.

Oro Valley junior Alex McMahon led the Wildcats with a ninth place finish at the Pac-12 Championships. He had four finishes each in the Top 10 and Top 20.

"Alex is also someone who has had a very strong spring, and I am excited because the experience he will gain will pay off in the future," Anderson said. "He is also very capable of advancing among the county's elite players.

"We are proud of the individual accomplishments of Erik and Alex this season. It's a great honor for our two leaders to have this opportunity."

The UofA stars will compete at the Briggs Ranch Golf Club in San Antonio May 15-17. The NCAA Finals will be held May 23-28 at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas. Oja or McMahon have a chance at competing at that tournament, should one shoot the lowest individual score among the 10 "at-large golfers" in San Antonio.

Below are the qualifiers for the 2014 NCAA Division One Men's Golf Championships.

Briggs Ranch Golf Club - San Antonio, Texas
Hosted by UTSA

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Georgia
2. Central Florida
4. Vanderbilt
5. South Florida
6. SMU [American Athletic Conference]
7. Georgia Southern [Southern Conference]
8. Georgia State [Sun Belt Conference]
9. TCU
10. Northwestern
11. College of Charleston [Colonial Conference]
12. VCU [Atlantic 10]
13. Columbia [Ivy Group]

1. Eric Oja, Arizona
2. Grant Forrest, San Diego
3. Grady Brame, Southeastern Louisiana
4. Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech
5. Alex McMahon, Arizona
6. Preston Stanley, Houston Baptist
7. Martin Simonsen, Texas-El Paso
8. Stuart Smallwood, Texas State
9. Peter Kim, Army
10. Peter Ballo, Sacred Heart

Auburn University Club - Auburn, Alabama
Hosted by Auburn

1. Alabama [Southeastern Conference]
2. Virginia Tech
3. Texas [Big 12 Conference]
4. Auburn
5. New Mexico [Mountain West Conference]
6. BYU [West Coast Conference]
7. Kennesaw State
8. Colorado
9. Louisville
10. UNC-Greensboro
11. UC Davis
12. Sam Houston State [Southland Conference]
13. St. John's [Big East Conference]
14. Alabama State [Southwestern Athletic Conference]

1. Blake Morris, Ole Miss
2. JD Tomlinson, Florida
3. Jared Bettcher, Troy
4. Marco Iten, Austin Peay
5. Theodore Lederhausen, Harvard

The Club at Old Hawthorne - Columbia, Missouri
Hosted by Missouri

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State
2. Virginia
3. LSU
4. Arkansas
5. Arizona State
6. Iowa
7. San Diego State
8. Missouri
9. Iowa State
10. Middle Tennessee State
11. Ohio State
12. Denver [The Summit League]
13. Loyola-Maryland [Patriot League]
14. Bryant [Northeast Conference]

1. Pep Angles, Central Arkansas
2. Matt Mabrey, Tulsa
3. Logan McCracken, Tulsa
4. Daniel Wood, Kansas State
5. Alex Taylor, Fairfield

Lonnie Poole Golf Club - Raleigh, North Carolina
Hosted by NC State

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]
2. Washington
3. Florida State
4. Texas A&M
5. Mercer [Atlantic Sun Conference]
6. Kentucky
7. Texas Tech
8. Wake Forest
9. South Alabama
10. Memphis
11. Minnesota [Big Ten Conference]
12. Rice [Conference USA]
13. Bethune-Cookman [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]

1. J.T. Poston, Western Carolina
2. Evan Russell, Hartford
3. Franco Castro, UNC-Charlotte
4. Brandon Matthews, Temple
5. Richard Fountain, Davidson
6. Eric Brady, East Carolina
7. Andrew Dorn, Coastal Carolina
8. Ben Wheeler, Coastal Carolina
9. Sean Bosdosh, Maryland
10. Zach Seabolt, Winthrop

Rich Harvest Farms - Sugar Grove, Illinois
Hosted by the Northern Illinois

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Cal
2. Illinois
3. USC
4. Alabama-Birmingham
6. Clemson
7. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]
8. Purdue
9. Mississippi State
10. Cal State Fullerton [Big West Conference]
11. New Mexico State [Western Athletic Conference]
12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. Cleveland State [Horizon League]
14. Saint Peter's [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]

1. Niall Platt, Notre Dame
2. Chris O'Neill, Michigan
3. Danny Pizetoski, Richmond
4. Juan Veloza, Towson
5. Rob van de Vin, IUPUI

Eugene Country Club - Eugene, Oregon
Hosted by Oregon

1. Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]
2. Houston
3. Oklahoma
4. South Carolina
5. Baylor
6. Liberty [Big South Conference]
7. Oregon
8. Tennessee
9. North Florida
10. East Tennessee State
11. Chattanooga
12. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]
13. Northern Colorado [Big Sky Conference]

1. Cody Blick, San Jose State
2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force
3. David Fink, Oregon State
4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State
5. Byron Meth, Pacific
6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount
7. Cory McElyea, San Francisco
8. Pete Fernandez, California Irvine
9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State
10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4