May 6, 2013 7:00 PM

Senate votes on Internet tax

Internet shoppers are getting closer to having to pay sales taxes on online purchases.

The Senate is expected to pass the marketplace fairness act Monday.

It will require that all online retailers collect sales taxes for the state where they ship the goods.

The act will still need to pass the gop-led house before it can become a law. Currently, online shoppers can buy items from e-commerce sites mostly sales-tax free.

Five states do not have a state-wide sales tax. Shoppers who live in Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon won't be charged on goods they have shipped to their home state.


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4